Skip to main content

Neighbors of North Aurora

Oklahoma! kicks off Paramount Theatre’s Broadway season

09/11/2015 11:49AM ● By Tim

Colte Julian plays Curly and Allison Sill is Laurey in Paramount Theatre’s 2015-16 Broadway Musical Series season opener, Oklahoma!

Paramount's Broadway opener Oklahoma!, directed by Artistic Director Jim Corti, promises to be the musical everyone will be talking about. Previews start Wed., Sept. 16, press opening is Sat., Sept 19 at 8pm and regular performances continue through Oct. 18.  Show times are Wed. at 1:30 & 7pm, Thurs. at 7pm, Fri. at 8pm, Sat. at 3 & 8pm and Sun. at 1 & 5:30pm. To start, and in true Paramount tradition, the 18-member Paramount Orchestra will play the full, original Broadway orchestrations for Oklahoma!

In Oklahoma!, set in the Oklahoma Territory in 1906, tensions are mounting between the local farmers and cowboys over the use of land. In the midst of it all is the rugged cowboy Curly, who's fallen for the strong-headed farm girl, Laurey. Despite their fiery spirits and at times tumultuous relationship, the two are destined to start a new life together in the soon-to-be state called Oklahoma.

Nominated for seven Tony Awards and winner of a Pulitzer Prize, Oklahoma! sets the standard for Paramount's 2015-16 Broadway season. It's filled with some of the most recognized songs in theater like "Oh, What A Beautiful Mornin'," "The Surrey with the Fringe On Top," "People Will Say We're in Love," and of course, the resounding "Ok-la-hom-a!" 

Artistic Director, Corti announced his "all-star cast for Oklahoma!, many playing the Paramount stage for the first time. Oklahoma! features an a-list cast of actors, led by rising stars Colte Julian as Curly McLain, Allison Sill as Laurey Williams, and Peter Saide as Jud Fry.

Oklahoma! also stars Kareem Bandealy (Ali Hakim), Caron Buinis (Aunt Eller Murphy), Lillie Cummings (Ado Annie Carnes), Carl Draper (Will Parker), Don Forston (Andrew Carnes), Allyson Graves (Gertie Cummings), Don Richard (Cord Elam), and ensemble members Aubrey Adams, William Carlos Angulo, Annelise Baker, Larry Baldacci, Aaron Conklin, Courtney Cerny, Erica Evans, Sam Gardner, Alana Grossman, Matt HolzfeindKristina Larson-Hauk, James Lee, Chelsea Morgan, Holly Stauder, James Stevko, Monica Thomas, J Tyler Whitmer and Phil Young.

Paramount's 2014-15 Broadway Series is sponsored by the Dunham Fund, BMO Harris Bank and Paramount Arts Centre Endowment (PACE). Broadway Series Orchestra Sponsor is Rush-Copley. Broadway Series Lighting Sponsor is ComEd. Broadway Series Costume Sponsor is Gerald Subaru

Tickets are $41 to $56. Visit the Paramount box office Mon. – Sat. from 10am–6pm or two hours prior to evening performances. 23 E. Galena Blvd., Aurora. (630) 896-6666,